RSS

Curation: The 21st Century Way To Learn On Its Own Pace And To Organize THE Learning?

26 Feb
Curation: The 21st Century Way To Learn On Its Own Pace And To Organize THE Learning?

.

Evolution of Education: Wordle Logo.


Curation: The 21st Century Way To Learn On Its Own Pace And To Organize THE Learning?

Already since 2011 I use Curation for my learning and through it I built my “Professional Knowledge Management“, called also PKM. But WHAT is Curation?

5-Steps-for-Content-CurationFirst I was wondering about this new trend and was not sure what to do with it, but after some research on Internet about it I found out that curation to me is the best way to collect articles which I select through quality criteria, which I can archive under different topics and which I find easily back through the “Tags”, as the “Tags” play the role of a table of content. For a Life-Long-Learner like me curation is like a treasure of knowledge and information that is getting shared through the online community.

Through curation one has the possibility to FREE online learning and through sharing it on Social Media to create a community with the same interests. This community is called a “PLN” (Personal [Professional] Learning Network).

Curation could also save people of same interests a lot of time and provides them with valuable content which could get used to link back to them in written articles, blogs, web sites and social media sites. Also one learns from each other in the curation community as one has the possibility to follow interesting curation.

As an ICT course instructor most of my curation is related to educational content and so I provide the curate content to an educational audience and to people who are willing to learn. Therefore I see curation also as help for a collective global learning and a contribution to a collective intelligence.

Read the full article here:

 

 

BUT, WHY and HOW do I use Curation for my PKM (Personal [Professional] Knowledge Management)?

Content Curation gives me the freedom to OWN my learning, through well chosen sources on the internet, and by giving them the right “Tags” it allows me to find the sources easily back later. BUT first of all I read the articles before I curate them, so I learn through the reading and as more often I do this as BETTER my brain gets trained to understand very quickly!

.

 

Learn more:

Curation itself is nothing new, since 1998 I used the same system already with Word documents (in my documents I used keywords at that time…) to create my own learning; curation platforms although have a nice user interface, integrated Social Media sharing options and a possibility for “Tags” creation, as also included statistics!

To me, Curation together with Social Media (especially twitter) and blogging is THE BEST way to learn and ALSO for teaching online!

Synthesizing Mind-5 Minds for the future

Through THESE daily routines I learn very quick!!

Check out my Curation site, please:

 

And for the “Learning-To-Learn“, please check my blog posts below:

 

Keywords necessary for me to create this blog post: Curation, tags, user interface, UI, Lord of Curation, SEO, Learning To Learn, PKM, PLN, Social Media, twitter, Synthesizing Mind, …


.

GUST-AVRIL2014-800px-2.

L’auteur Gust MEES est Formateur andragogique / pédagogique TIC, membre du “Comité Conseil” de “Luxembourg Safer Internet” (LuSI), appelé maintenant BEESECURE, partenaire officiel (consultant) du Ministère de l’éducation au Luxembourg du projet  ”MySecureIT“, partenaire officiel du Ministère du Commerce au Luxembourg du projet ”CASES” (Cyberworld Awareness and Security Enhancement Structure).

.


The author Gust MEES is ICT Course Instructor, ”Member of the Advisory Board” from “Luxembourg Safer Internet” (LuSI), BEESECURE, Official Partner (Consultant) from the Ministry of Education in Luxembourg, project “MySecureIT“, Official Partner from the Ministry of Commerce in Luxembourg, project “CASES” (Cyberworld Awareness and Security Enhancement Structure).


...

Stay tuned for next blog post(s) 😉

 

.

.

 

.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Curation: The 21st Century Way To Learn On Its Own Pace And To Organize THE Learning?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.